Brad
1 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Hi Linda - I might have responded before, but I don't recall - though it bears repeating :) - I know that it is hurtful when our loved ones don't support our artistic endeavors. I know that I would read my friend's and family's work if roles were reversed, and buy their writing on at least Kindle to support them. It's tough not to be angry and/or resentful when we don't get the support that we'd offer others.

This seems to be a common theme with writers and their close ones, but it doesn't make it less disappointing. I can't speak for your husband, but maybe he's afraid if he doesn't like it, he will hurt you (though he is hurting you, albeit maybe not intentionally, by not supporting you) with criticism. It's like - if we're not famous/successful writers, then we're not really working and it's OK to interrupt us because it's not a "real job".

This is all too common - and alot of articles come up if I search for "lack of support for writers from family - here are a couple:

* https://annerallen.com/2021/07/unsupportive-friends-and-family/

* https://wegrowmedia.com/why-many-writers-get-little-support-from-friends-and-family/ (the video doesn't work for me, but the comments are worth the read)

This isn't a solution, but I hope it helps feel we are not all alone. I encourage you to keep writing.

--

--